Tell Morningstar to make their Garden Veggie Burger vegan!

Tell Morningstar to make their veggie burger vegan
Tell Morningstar

Take less than a minute to ask Morningstar Farms to make their Garden Patty vegan!

Morningstar Farms has been known for making delicious vegetarian alternatives to animal proteins. However, many people are disappointed that most of their products contain eggs and dairy—including the Garden Veggie Burger sold in stores and at Burger King.

Thousands of vegans around the US would love to purchase more Morningstar Farms products, including supporting the hearty veggie burger at Burger King that’s so widely available.

Please ask Morningstar Farms to ditch the egg and dairy to make their Garden Veggie Burger vegan!

Sign the Petition

5 thoughts on “Tell Morningstar to make their Garden Veggie Burger vegan!

  1. Strict devotees of Krishna, practicing ahimsa or nonviolence towards humans and animals alike as Bhakti-yoga, or devotion to a personal God, avoid rennet, an enzyme used in coagulating cheeses and found in store-bought cheeses from the commercial dairies, because rennet comes from the lining of a calf’s stomach. If you believe the cow is sacred and must never be killed and you’re morally opposed to cow-killing, it makes no sense to purchase cheese containing rennet. Similarly, it makes no sense to consume dairy products as an alternative to meat (e.g., enjoying “curd steaks” at Ratha Yatra festivals instead of beef steaks), if the cows are being killed in the commercial dairies in the process of obtaining the dairy! Many lacto-ovo-vegetarians, too, might purchase Morningstar Farms veggie burgers and veggie sausages from the supermarket, as a cruelty-free alternative to meat, but if these items contain even traces of eggs and dairy, one is still implicated in the violence of animal-killing. It’s counterproductive. It’s self-defeating. People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals (PETA), a secular organization, similarly tries to show its members that even if one purchases items containing only “fur trim,” an animal had to be killed. You’d think Krishna devotees, thinking themselves smugly superior to and referring derisively to the meat-eaters as “mlecchas” and “yavanas” (Sanskrit for flesh-eaters, barbarians, bloodthirsty demons, etc.), concerned about foods containing animal ingredients like gelatin, lecithin, mono-and-diglycerides, etc., not wanting to dine in restaurants which serve meat, not wanting to be implicated in the violence associated with animal-killing, showcasing cruelty-free products in temple gift shops in the 1992 Hare Krishna Resource Guide and Directory along with articles on permaculture or sustainable agriculture, the problems of a petroleum-based economy, citing Gandhian economics, Frances Moore Lappe, Vandana Shiva, etc. would immediately understand the vegans, not wanting to be implicated in cow-killing through the commercial dairies. If a preparation is strictly vegan, then lacto-ovo-vegetarians, and even meat-eaters can enjoy it, too!

  2. While I like the idea of vegan burgers I am much more concerned about making them GMO-free. Let’s have a petition to do both at the same time.

  3. I am only a demi-veg, but I know that making your veggie burgers vegan would make them “okay” to more customers.

Comments are closed.